Sports and Endo

Sometimes staying active with a chronic illness can be hard. I gave up all sports right after my laparoscopy and didn’t get back into them for another year and a half. I used to be an Irish step dancer, but I quit because of the amount of time I would be out after my lap. I got back into sports quite literally 20 months after my laparoscopy. I joined JROTC at my high school. When I moved schools junior year I became a cheerleader.

To be honest, ThermaCare menstrual are a lifesaver for endo. So is biofreeze or icy hot  on your abdomen during sports. Just please don’t use both at the same time.

Know your limits. Sometimes I over do it and end up with a bad flare. Saturday my cheer squad competed for the first time ever. And, we won. We ate concession stand food and taco bell for lunch and dinner that day. By the time I got home I felt awful and I barely slept thanks to pain and nausea.

I suggest swimming for Endo patients. Swimming is relaxing and low impact. It also is easy to do and works all muscles. Plus I’ve always loved the cold water on my back when it hurts.

Author: thrivingwithendo

Hey yall I'm just a young girl blogging about her experience with Endometriosis!!

Leave a comment